Links to Amazon.com are plain product links. We may earn a commission in the future if we join affiliate programs; this never decides what we recommend.

Buying guide

Robot Vacuums: How to Choose by Floor Type, Station and Upkeep

By iPickOne editorial team · Published · Reviewed

Short answer

Pick the station first, then the floor. The ECOVACS T50 PRO OMNI (15,000 Pa) and T80 OMNI (18,000 Pa) have mop-washing OMNI stations; the Roborock Q7 M5+ (10,000 Pa) has a self-empty dock that Roborock says lasts 7–9 weeks without emptying. Height matters under furniture: the T50 is 3.19 inches, the T80 98 mm and the Q7 99 mm. Pascals are each maker’s own figure and are not a ranking.

White robot vacuum cleaner on a wood floor
Photo by zeleboba on Pexels. Typical product type, not a specific model.

Who should pick what

Side-by-side comparison

Three robot vacuums on the same manufacturer-page fields
CriterionECOVACS T50 PRO OMNIECOVACS T80 OMNIRoborock Q7 M5+
Suction15,000 Pa18,000 Pa (best in this row)10,000 Pa (the Q7 L5 series is 8,000 Pa)
Height3.19 inch (8.1 cm), with an embedded dToF LiDAR module98 mmRobot 325 × 325 × 99 mm
StationOMNI Station: auto-empty, hot-air drying at 45°C, automatic detergent refill, auto refill and drainMop washing at 40–75°C, 45°C hot-air drying, 150-day maintenance-free mop washing trayRockDock Plus self-empty dock, 212 × 178 × 259 mm; dust bag lasts up to 7–9 weeks without emptying (Roborock internal testing)
MoppingOZMO Turbo 2.0 dual rotating mop plates; lifts the mop up to 0.35 in when it detects carpetOZMO Roller self-washing roller mop; Ecovacs states 3,700 Pa mopping pressure and a “Carpet First” mode that vacuums carpets before moppingVacuums and mops at once; three water-flow levels; detachable mop
NavigationdToF LiDAR plus AIVI 3D camera obstacle recognition; maps up to 100 square meters and starts cleaning right awayAIVI 3D vision with structured light and embedded radarPreciSense LiDAR, 360° scanning, remembers multiple floor maps
Threshold / obstacleNot stated in the text of the page we read20 mm obstacle crossing and 10 mm brush lift (Ecovacs)Not stated in the text of the page we read
Hair tangle controlZeroTangle 2.0 with a 45° V-shaped anti-tangle bristle designZeroTangle 3.0 with an anti-tangle side brush and triple-V structureDual Anti-Tangle System; Roborock cites TÜV Rheinland: 0% pet-hair tangle rate, 0.063% for short human hair

Figures are from each maker’s US page. Suction in pascals is a maker’s own rating and not a shared standard. “Not stated” means the text we read has no labeled figure. Highlighted = best value in the row: highest CADR, IEF, CEER, run time or suction; lowest yearly energy use or weight. Sources for every figure are listed under “Sources” below.

How we compared: key criteria

  1. StationThe OMNI stations empty the bin and wash the mop; the T50 adds hot-air drying at 45°C and the T80 adds a 150-day maintenance-free mop washing tray. The Roborock Q7 M5+ dock empties the bin only, and its page says the bag lasts up to 7–9 weeks (Roborock internal testing).
  2. Height under furnitureThe T50 is 3.19 inches (8.1 cm), the T80 is 98 mm and the Q7 M5+ is 99 mm tall. Measure the gap under your sofa and bed against the number.
  3. Suction15,000 Pa, 18,000 Pa and 10,000 Pa are each maker’s rating. A higher rating does not mean cleaner floors on its own; compare the brush design and the carpet handling too.
  4. Carpet and mopThe T50 lifts its mop up to 0.35 in on carpet; the T80 vacuums carpets first and then mops (“Carpet First”). The Q7 M5+ mops in one pass with three water levels and a detachable mop.
  5. Hair tanglesECOVACS lists ZeroTangle (2.0 on the T50, 3.0 on the T80). Roborock cites TÜV Rheinland: 0% pet-hair tangle rate and 0.063% for short human hair.

Our picks

Slimmest, with a washing station

ECOVACS DEEBOT T50 PRO OMNI

  • 15,000Pa

Why we'd pick it: 3.19 in height, 15,000 Pa, dToF LiDAR with camera obstacle recognition, hot-air mop drying at 45°C and automatic detergent refill.

Skip it if… you want a stated threshold height: the page we read gives none, only a 0.35 in mop lift on carpet.

View on Amazon — ECOVACS DEEBOT T50 PRO OMNI on Amazon.com

Highest suction, stated obstacle crossing

ECOVACS DEEBOT T80 OMNI

  • 18,000Pa

Why we'd pick it: 18,000 Pa, a self-washing roller mop, 20 mm obstacle crossing and a 150-day maintenance-free mop tray.

Skip it if… you want the thinnest body: at 98 mm it is taller than the T50 (about 81 mm).

View on Amazon — ECOVACS DEEBOT T80 OMNI on Amazon.com

Self-empty dock, simpler setup

Roborock Q7 M5+

  • 10,000Pa

Why we'd pick it: 10,000 Pa, PreciSense LiDAR, three water levels and a RockDock Plus bag that Roborock says lasts 7–9 weeks.

Skip it if… you want a mop-washing station or a stated threshold figure; the page lists neither.

View on Amazon — Roborock Q7 M5+ on Amazon.com

Downsides and when not to buy

  • The pages give feature claims and the makers’ own ratings; none gives real-world carpet pickup, noise or app reliability.
  • We left out the Shark Matrix Plus AV2610WA: Shark’s own site showed only parts for it, so we had no maker figures to check.
  • Threshold heights are stated only by ECOVACS for the T80 (20 mm); the T50 and Roborock pages gave none, so we do not compare doorways.

When the pricier option isn't worth it

A mop-washing station is not worth paying for if your floors are mostly carpet or you only want dust picked up; the Roborock Q7 M5+ dock covers emptying alone.

Who should skip this product type

Skip a robot if your home has many level changes between rooms, loose cables or thick shag rugs; a cordless stick is easier to carry and steer.

Extra costs, installation and compatibility

Ongoing costs
Dust bags, mop pads, detergent and brushes are consumables; we do not print prices. ECOVACS sells dust bags for the T50/T80 family separately, and Roborock names a dust bag in its dock.
Installation and space
The Q7 M5+ dock is 212 × 178 × 259 mm and the robot 325 × 325 × 99 mm. The ECOVACS pages we read give no station dimensions; measure before ordering.
Compatibility
The Roborock page lists Alexa and Google Home support and app control. Some features arrive by later software update, according to Roborock’s footnote.

View on Amazon

Links to Amazon.com are plain product links. We may earn a commission in the future if we join affiliate programs; this never decides what we recommend. Prices and availability change, so we don't print them — check the current details on Amazon. See our Affiliate Disclosure.

Research method, sources and review date

Research-based comparison: we compare manufacturer specifications, user manuals and published guidance, and note where a figure is a manufacturer claim. We do not test products in a lab. Figures come from the ECOVACS US and Roborock US product pages as read on 2026-11-06. How we compare · Editorial policy

Sources

Last reviewed · Next scheduled review . Spotted an error? Tell us.

Update log

  • — Rebuilt (IPK-BUILD-5) around models confirmed to exist on Amazon.com. Figures come from ENERGY STAR certified-product data and, where we could read one, the manufacturer page; where a source does not state a figure we say so. Models not found on Amazon.com were removed from the picks.
See our picks