Links to Amazon.com are plain product links. We may earn a commission in the future if we join affiliate programs; this never decides what we recommend.

Buying guide

Choosing a Cordless Stick Vacuum: Runtime, Bin Size, and Battery Replacement

By iPickOne editorial team · Published · Reviewed

Short answer

Three things decide a cordless stick: how long it runs, how big the bin is and whether you can swap the battery. On the pages we read, the Dyson Gen5detect lists up to 70 minutes, the Dyson V15 Detect up to 60 and the Shark IA1241 up to 60 (in ECO mode with a non-motorized tool); only Shark states a bin size (0.5 qt) and a warranty (5 years). Run time falls on stronger power modes, and none of the three pages gave us a battery-replacement answer.

Slim stick vacuum standing on a wooden floor
Photo by Liliana Drew on Pexels. Typical product type, not a specific model.

Who should pick what

Side-by-side comparison

Three cordless stick vacuums on the same manufacturer-page fields
CriterionDyson Gen5detectDyson V15 DetectShark IA1241
Run timeUp to 70 minutes (Dyson: actual run time varies with power mode, dust level, floor type and attachments) (best in this row)Up to 60 minutes (Dyson: actual run time varies with power mode, dust level, floor type and attachments)Up to 60 minutes (Shark: measured in ECO mode with a non-motorized tool)
MotorMotor spins at 135,000 rpm (Dyson says its most power-dense yet)Hyperdymium motor, up to 125,000 rpm; 3 cleaning modesNot stated in the text of the page we read
Dust sensingGreen light 20° wide, 0.3 inch above the floor, reveals dust on hard floors; page also lists adaptive suction and a clean-floor indicatorPiezo sensor counts and sizes particles; LCD screen shows what was picked up; green-light head reveals dust on hard floorsDirt Detect and FloorDetect sensors adjust power and brushroll speed; Direction Detect gives full power forward and in reverse
FiltrationSealed system with post-motor HEPA; Dyson says it traps particles as small as 0.1 μm (footnoted to Boost mode)Dyson’s footnote cites at least 99.97% filtration outside Boost mode; the Boost figure is not in the text we readAnti-Allergen Complete Seal: up to 99.97% of dust and allergens 0.3 microns and larger (Shark cites ASTM F1977)
Dust binNot stated in the text of the page we readNot stated in the text of the page we readDust cup 0.5 qt
Included tools2 cleaner heads and 4 accessoriesV15 Detect: 5 attachments; V15 Detect Absolute: 2 cleaner heads and 4 accessoriesConverts to a hand vacuum; the In the Box tab was not in the text we read
WarrantyNot stated in the text of the page we readNot stated in the text of the page we readFive (5) year limited warranty
BatteryNot stated in the text of the page we readNot stated in the text of the page we readNot stated in the text of the page we read
WeightNot stated in the text of the page we readNot stated in the text of the page we readDescribed as lightweight “at 7 lbs” in Shark’s footnote

Figures are from each maker’s US product page. “Not stated” means the text we read has no labeled figure; we did not fill gaps from retailer listings. Run times are the makers’ “up to” figures. Highlighted = best value in the row: highest CADR, IEF, CEER, run time or suction; lowest yearly energy use or weight. Sources for every figure are listed under “Sources” below.

At a glance

Longest listed run time, minutes

Dyson Gen5detect 70 Dyson V15 Detect 60 Shark IA1241 60

How we compared: key criteria

  1. Run timeBoth makers publish “up to” figures that fall with higher power modes and powered tools. Dyson says actual run time varies with mode, dust level, floor type and attachments; Shark measured its 60 minutes in ECO mode with a non-motorized tool. Compare the mode, not only the number.
  2. Bin sizeShark states a 0.5 qt dust cup for the IA1241. The Dyson pages we read give no bin size for the V15 Detect or Gen5detect (Dyson says only that the larger Gen5outsize has a bin 150% bigger than the Gen5detect). A small bin means more trips to the trash.
  3. Battery replacementThis matters because the battery is what wears out. The Dyson Gen5detect page has a question “Can the battery be replaced?” but its answer was collapsed in the text we read; the Shark and V15 pages did not say. Ask before you buy or read the manual.
  4. FiltrationShark cites up to 99.97% of dust and allergens at 0.3 microns and larger (ASTM F1977). Dyson cites post-motor HEPA down to 0.1 μm for the Gen5detect, footnoted to Boost mode. These are each maker’s claims on its own test basis, so they do not compare directly.
  5. WarrantyShark lists a five-year limited warranty on the IA1241 page. The Dyson pages we read state no warranty term.

Our picks

Longest run time listed

Dyson Gen5detect cordless vacuum

  • 70min run

Why we'd pick it: up to 70 minutes, a 135,000 rpm motor, post-motor HEPA filtration and 2 cleaner heads with 4 accessories; Dyson calls it its most powerful cordless line.

Skip it if… you want a stated bin size, weight or warranty term, which the page text does not give, or you want the lightest machine.

View on Amazon — Dyson Gen5detect cordless vacuum on Amazon.com

Dust sensing and a screen

Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum

  • 60min run

Why we'd pick it: a piezo sensor that counts particles, an LCD that shows what was picked up, 3 power modes and up to 60 minutes.

Skip it if… you need the Amazon listing to match exactly: Amazon’s V15 listings are named Plus and Origin, not the models Dyson’s page shows.

Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum is not verified

Stated bin, weight class and warranty

Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241

  • 60min run
  • 0.5qt bin
  • 7lb

Why we'd pick it: a 0.5 qt dust cup, about 7 lb, up to 60 minutes in ECO mode and a five-year limited warranty, with sensors that raise power on dirtier spots.

Skip it if… you want the longest run time or a larger bin: the IA1241 lists 60 minutes and 0.5 qt, and we could not confirm an Amazon listing for this exact model.

Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241 is not verified

Downsides and when not to buy

  • Dyson’s US site has two different V8 pages that disagree (up to 60 minutes and 3 modes on one, up to 40 minutes and 2 modes on the other), so we could not tie either to one model and left the V8 out.
  • The pages are marketing pages: they give “up to” run times and brand-defined filtration claims, and nothing on noise, real-world pickup or battery life after a year of use.
  • The Dyson pages we read did not label bin size, weight or warranty, so those table cells say “Not stated” rather than guess.

When the pricier option isn't worth it

The top Dyson line is not worth its extra cost if your home is small and mostly hard floor; a shorter run time covers it, and the extra motor power helps most on thick carpet.

Who should skip this product type

Skip a cordless stick as your only vacuum if you have large rooms of thick carpet or you want to run it for more than an hour at a time; a corded upright suits that better.

Extra costs, installation and compatibility

Ongoing costs
Batteries and filters wear out; we do not print prices. Shark sells accessories separately (the IA1241 page lists brushes and tools as add-ons), and none of the three pages gives a replacement-battery figure.
Installation and space
Dyson’s dock and Shark’s hand-vac conversion both need wall or floor space; the pages we read give no dock dimensions. The Shark page describes a weight class of 7 lb; the Dyson pages give no weight.
Compatibility
Accessories are brand-specific. Amazon.com listings may carry a different model name than the maker’s page, so match the model number before you buy.

View on Amazon

Dyson

Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum

  • 60min run

Illuminated Fluffy Optic head, piezo dust sensor and LCD screen.

Amazon.com has V15 Detect listings named “Plus” and “Origin”, but Dyson’s page names “V15 Detect” and “V15 Detect Absolute”, so we cannot tie either listing to the figures here and the button stays off.

Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum is not verified

Shark

Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241

  • 60min run
  • 0.5qt bin
  • 7lb

Lighter Shark stick with forward-and-reverse pickup and a 5-year warranty.

We could not confirm an Amazon.com listing for the IA1241 itself. Shark’s page lists a related model, IA3241, with a self-empty base; we have not matched that listing to these figures, so no button.

Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241 is not verified

Links to Amazon.com are plain product links. We may earn a commission in the future if we join affiliate programs; this never decides what we recommend. Prices and availability change, so we don't print them — check the current details on Amazon. See our Affiliate Disclosure.

Research method, sources and review date

Research-based comparison: we compare manufacturer specifications, user manuals and published guidance, and note where a figure is a manufacturer claim. We do not test products in a lab. Figures come from the Dyson US and SharkNinja US product pages as read on 2026-11-06. Dyson’s US site has two different V8 pages that disagree (up to 60 minutes and 3 modes on one, up to 40 minutes and 2 modes on the other), so we could not tie either to one model and left the V8 out. How we compare · Editorial policy

Sources

Last reviewed · Next scheduled review . Spotted an error? Tell us.

Update log

  • — Rebuilt (IPK-BUILD-5) around models confirmed to exist on Amazon.com. Figures come from ENERGY STAR certified-product data and, where we could read one, the manufacturer page; where a source does not state a figure we say so. Models not found on Amazon.com were removed from the picks.
See our picks