Comparison
Dyson V15 Detect vs Shark PowerDetect Speed IA1241: Where the Two Differ
Short answer
Both list up to 60 minutes of run time, so run time does not separate them. What does: the Dyson V15 Detect has a piezo sensor and an LCD that shows picked-up particles, while the Shark IA1241 states a 0.5 qt dust cup, about 7 lb and a five-year warranty that the Dyson page does not. If you want a longer listed run time, the Dyson Gen5detect says up to 70 minutes. The pages cannot tell us which cleans better.
Who should pick what
- You want to see what the vacuum picked up on a screen Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum
- 60min run
- You want a stated bin size, weight class and 5-year warranty Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241
- 60min run
- 0.5qt bin
- 7lb
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | Dyson V15 Detect | Shark IA1241 |
|---|---|---|
| Run time | Up to 60 minutes (Dyson: actual run time varies with power mode, dust level, floor type and attachments) | Up to 60 minutes (Shark: measured in ECO mode with a non-motorized tool) |
| Motor | Hyperdymium motor, up to 125,000 rpm; 3 cleaning modes | Not stated in the text of the page we read |
| Dust sensing | Piezo sensor counts and sizes particles; LCD screen shows what was picked up; green-light head reveals dust on hard floors | Dirt Detect and FloorDetect sensors adjust power and brushroll speed; Direction Detect gives full power forward and in reverse |
| Filtration | Dyson’s footnote cites at least 99.97% filtration outside Boost mode; the Boost figure is not in the text we read | Anti-Allergen Complete Seal: up to 99.97% of dust and allergens 0.3 microns and larger (Shark cites ASTM F1977) |
| Dust bin | Not stated in the text of the page we read | Dust cup 0.5 qt |
| Included tools | V15 Detect: 5 attachments; V15 Detect Absolute: 2 cleaner heads and 4 accessories | Converts to a hand vacuum; the In the Box tab was not in the text we read |
| Warranty | Not stated in the text of the page we read | Five (5) year limited warranty |
| Battery | Not stated in the text of the page we read | Not stated in the text of the page we read |
| Weight | Not stated in the text of the page we read | Described as lightweight “at 7 lbs” in Shark’s footnote |
Figures are from the Dyson US and SharkNinja US product pages. “Not stated” means the text we read has no labeled figure; we did not fill gaps from retailer listings. Sources for every figure are listed under “Sources” below.
Longest listed run time, minutes
How we compared: key criteria
- Run timeBoth pages say up to 60 minutes. Shark measured its figure in ECO mode with a non-motorized tool; Dyson says actual run time varies with mode, dust level, floor type and attachments. Neither is a promise for a powered tool on carpet.
- Dust sensingDyson’s V15 counts particles with a piezo sensor and shows them on an LCD. Shark’s sensors adjust power and brushroll speed automatically and give full power in both pass directions. One shows you data; the other adjusts quietly.
- FiltrationShark states up to 99.97% of dust and allergens at 0.3 microns and larger (ASTM F1977). Dyson’s V15 page cites at least 99.97% outside Boost mode in a footnote but its Boost figure was not in the text we read, so we do not rank them.
- Bin, weight and warrantyOnly Shark states these: a 0.5 qt dust cup, a “7 lbs” lightweight footnote and five years. The Dyson V15 page, as we read it, states none of the three.
Our picks
Pick the Dyson if…
Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum
- 60min run
Why we'd pick it: you want to see picked-up particles on an LCD, with a piezo sensor, 3 power modes, a 125,000 rpm motor and up to 60 minutes.
Skip it if… you need a stated bin size, weight or warranty term, or an exact Amazon listing match: neither “Plus” nor “Origin” matches Dyson’s page names.
Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum is not verifiedPick the Shark if…
Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241
- 60min run
- 0.5qt bin
- 7lb
Why we'd pick it: you want a stated 0.5 qt dust cup, about 7 lb and a five-year limited warranty, with forward-and-reverse pickup.
Skip it if… you want the longest run time or a screen; we also could not confirm an Amazon.com listing for this exact model.
Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241 is not verifiedAlso consider
Dyson Gen5detect cordless vacuum
- 70min run
Why we'd pick it: you want Dyson’s longest listed run time: up to 70 minutes, a 135,000 rpm motor and post-motor HEPA filtration.
Skip it if… you want a stated bin size or warranty term; the page text states neither.
View on Amazon — Dyson Gen5detect cordless vacuum on Amazon.comDownsides and when not to buy
- These are maker pages: they tell us specs and claims, not real-world pickup, noise or battery life after a year.
- The Dyson V15 page, as we read it, leaves bin size, weight, battery and warranty unstated, so the table has several “Not stated” cells.
- Dyson’s US site has two different V8 pages that disagree (up to 60 minutes and 3 modes on one, up to 40 minutes and 2 modes on the other), so we could not tie either to one model and left the V8 out.
When the pricier option isn't worth it
The Dyson’s sensing screen is not worth chasing if you only want a quiet, lightweight vacuum for hard floors; the Shark covers that with fewer features.
Who should skip this product type
Skip both if you need a vacuum that runs for hours in one go; a corded model, or a Dyson with an extra battery (the Gen5outsize), fits that better.
Extra costs, installation and compatibility
- Ongoing costs
- Filters and batteries are recurring costs and none of these pages gives a replacement figure; we do not print prices. Shark lists add-on brushes and tools as separate purchases.
- Installation and space
- The Shark page lists a 7 lb weight class; the Dyson pages give no weight or dock size. Measure your storage spot against the manual.
- Compatibility
- Accessories are brand-specific. Check the model number on any Amazon.com listing against the maker’s page before buying.
View on Amazon
Dyson
Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum
- 60min run
Illuminated Fluffy Optic head, piezo dust sensor and LCD screen.
Amazon.com has V15 Detect listings named “Plus” and “Origin”, but Dyson’s page names “V15 Detect” and “V15 Detect Absolute”, so we cannot tie either listing to the figures here and the button stays off.
Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Dyson V15 Detect cordless vacuum is not verifiedShark
Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241
- 60min run
- 0.5qt bin
- 7lb
Lighter Shark stick with forward-and-reverse pickup and a 5-year warranty.
We could not confirm an Amazon.com listing for the IA1241 itself. Shark’s page lists a related model, IA3241, with a self-empty base; we have not matched that listing to these figures, so no button.
Amazon link not live yet — exact product page for Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241 is not verifiedDyson
Dyson Gen5detect cordless vacuum
- 70min run
Dyson’s most powerful stick line, with post-motor HEPA filtration.
View on Amazon — Dyson Gen5detect cordless vacuum on Amazon.comLinks to Amazon.com are plain product links. We may earn a commission in the future if we join affiliate programs; this never decides what we recommend. Prices and availability change, so we don't print them — check the current details on Amazon. See our Affiliate Disclosure.
Research method, sources and review date
Research-based comparison: we compare manufacturer specifications, user manuals and published guidance, and note where a figure is a manufacturer claim. We do not test products in a lab. Figures come from the Dyson US and SharkNinja US product pages as read on 2026-11-06. How we compare · Editorial policy
Sources
- Dyson US: V15 Detect cordless vacuum page (dyson.com, read 2026-11-06)
- SharkNinja US: Shark PowerDetect Speed cordless vacuum IA1241 product page (read 2026-11-06)
- Dyson US: Gen5 cordless vacuum page incl. Gen5detect (dyson.com, read 2026-11-06)
Update log
- — Rebuilt (IPK-BUILD-5) around models confirmed to exist on Amazon.com. Figures come from ENERGY STAR certified-product data and, where we could read one, the manufacturer page; where a source does not state a figure we say so. Models not found on Amazon.com were removed from the picks.