Comparison
Humidifier vs Dehumidifier: Which Fixes Your Humidity Problem?
Short answer
Dry throat, dry skin and static point to a humidifier; condensation on windows, walls or pipes, or a damp basement point to a dehumidifier. Either way, EPA’s limits apply: keep indoor humidity below 60 percent, ideally 30 to 50 percent, and never humidify past 50 percent. We list no humidifier models, so the picks below are dehumidifiers.
Who should pick what
- Small damp room, up to about 22 pints a day is enough Frigidaire FHDD2233Y1 22-pint dehumidifier
- 22pints/day
- 276kWh/yr
- 1.70L/kWh
Side-by-side comparison
| Question | Humidifier | Dehumidifier |
|---|---|---|
| What it does | Adds moisture to dry air (EPA: relieves a dry nose, throat, lips and skin, and static or peeling paint from winter heating) | Removes moisture from damp air (EPA: use dehumidifiers when needed to keep humidity down) |
| Signs it fits | Dry nose, throat, lips or skin; static electricity; cracks in paint and furniture | Condensation on windows, walls or pipes; damp areas such as a humid basement |
| Humidity ceiling | EPA: do not humidify above 50 percent relative humidity | EPA: keep indoor humidity below 60 percent, ideally between 30 and 50 percent |
| Upkeep | Portable units: empty, wipe dry and refill daily; clean every third day; low-mineral water for ultrasonic and impeller types (EPA) | Sized by pints removed per 24 hours (ENERGY STAR) |
| Main risk if misused | Too much moisture can encourage dust mites and mold; dirty tanks can disperse microorganisms and minerals (EPA) | Not covered in the sources we read; follow the manual |
Sources: US EPA, Use and Care of Home Humidifiers; US EPA, A Brief Guide to Mold, Moisture and Your Home; ENERGY STAR, Dehumidifiers. All read on 2026-11-06. Sources for every figure are listed under “Sources” below.
How we compared: key criteria
- Start with a reading, not a guessEPA suggests a hygrometer, a small inexpensive meter sold at hardware stores, to measure relative humidity. Compare the reading with EPA’s 30 to 50 percent range: below it a humidifier may help, and above 50 to 60 percent a dehumidifier may.
- The target rangeEPA’s mold guide says to keep humidity below 60 percent, ideally between 30 and 50 percent, and its humidifier guide says not to humidify above 50 percent. The range is the same on both sides, so the goal is to land inside it.
- Signs of too much moistureEPA lists condensation or moisture on windows, walls or pipes as a sign of high humidity, and says a humidifier that causes it should be turned down, moved or run less.
- Humidifier upkeepEPA says to empty, dry and refill portable humidifiers daily, clean them every third day and use low-mineral water such as distilled water in ultrasonic and impeller types, because standing water can grow microorganisms.
- Sizing a dehumidifierENERGY STAR sizes dehumidifiers in pints removed per 24 hours and says the capacity you need depends on the size of the space and how damp it is. Our dehumidifier guide covers the sizing chart.
Our picks
If damp air is the problem: smaller room
Frigidaire FHDD2233Y1 22-pint dehumidifier
- 22pints/day
- 276kWh/yr
- 1.70L/kWh
Why we'd pick it: 22.27 pints per day on the DOE test ENERGY STAR uses, 1.70 L/kWh and 276 kWh per year, ENERGY STAR certified.
Skip it if… your space is large or very damp; at about 22 pints a day it is the smallest of the three.
View on Amazon — Frigidaire FHDD2233Y1 22-pint dehumidifier on Amazon.comIf damp air is the problem: mid-size space
hOmeLabs HME0089 32-pint dehumidifier
- 32pints/day
- 343kWh/yr
- 2.01L/kWh
Why we'd pick it: 32.46 pints per day, 343 kWh per year, ENERGY STAR certified.
Skip it if… you need the highest capacity or a smart-capable unit: ENERGY STAR lists this one as not connected.
View on Amazon — hOmeLabs HME0089 32-pint dehumidifier on Amazon.comIf damp air is the problem: large space
Honeywell TPFIT50WK 50-pint dehumidifier
- 50pints/day
- 516kWh/yr
- 2.01L/kWh
Why we'd pick it: 49.66 pints per day, 516 kWh per year, ENERGY STAR certified and connected (smart) capable.
Skip it if… your space is small; the larger unit uses more energy (516 kWh per year) than a smaller one would.
View on Amazon — Honeywell TPFIT50WK 50-pint dehumidifier on Amazon.comDownsides and when not to buy
- We include no humidifier models: we have no humidifier data set from ENERGY STAR or a maker page, so any humidifier pick would be a guess.
- EPA’s pages give limits and upkeep rules, not a symptom-to-cause diagnosis; a moisture problem from a leak needs the leak fixed.
- Humidity readings change by room and season; one reading is a snapshot.
When the pricier option isn't worth it
A smart-capable dehumidifier isn’t worth the extra complexity if a plain unit with a humidistat holds the range you set.
Who should skip this product type
Skip both if the cause is a leak, a vent that dumps moisture indoors or a dryer that is not vented outside; EPA says to fix the moisture source and vent appliances that produce it.
Extra costs, installation and compatibility
- Ongoing costs
- A humidifier needs clean (often distilled) water and cleaning supplies; a dehumidifier needs electricity, shown as kWh per year in ENERGY STAR’s data, and a way to empty the water. We do not print prices.
- Installation and space
- A portable dehumidifier needs clear space around it and either a bucket you empty or a drain; keep a portable humidifier away from absorbent materials such as carpeting and drapes, which should not get damp (EPA).
- Compatibility
- A humidifier adds the moisture a dehumidifier removes, so pick the one your humidity reading calls for.
View on Amazon
Frigidaire
Frigidaire FHDD2233Y1 22-pint dehumidifier
- 22pints/day
- 276kWh/yr
- 1.70L/kWh
Small-room class. ENERGY STAR data gives capacity and efficiency; drain type is not stated in that data.
View on Amazon — Frigidaire FHDD2233Y1 22-pint dehumidifier on Amazon.comhOmeLabs
hOmeLabs HME0089 32-pint dehumidifier
- 32pints/day
- 343kWh/yr
- 2.01L/kWh
Mid-size class, connected (smart) capable per ENERGY STAR data. Drain type is not stated in that data.
View on Amazon — hOmeLabs HME0089 32-pint dehumidifier on Amazon.comHoneywell
Honeywell TPFIT50WK 50-pint dehumidifier
- 50pints/day
- 516kWh/yr
- 2.01L/kWh
Same 50-pint class as the TPFIT50PWK; the maker page lists a continuous-drain tube and no pump. The maker's own store lists it as discontinued.
View on Amazon — Honeywell TPFIT50WK 50-pint dehumidifier on Amazon.comLinks to Amazon.com are plain product links. We may earn a commission in the future if we join affiliate programs; this never decides what we recommend. Prices and availability change, so we don't print them — check the current details on Amazon. See our Affiliate Disclosure.
Research method, sources and review date
Research-based comparison: we compare manufacturer specifications, user manuals and published guidance, and note where a figure is a manufacturer claim. We do not test products in a lab. Humidity limits and humidifier upkeep come from the US EPA pages named above; dehumidifier figures from ENERGY STAR certified-product data, all read on 2026-11-06. How we compare · Editorial policy
Sources
- ENERGY STAR certified dehumidifiers data: Frigidaire FHDD2233Y1 (data.energystar.gov, queried 2026-11-06)
- ENERGY STAR certified dehumidifiers data: hOmeLabs HME0089 (data.energystar.gov, queried 2026-11-06)
- ENERGY STAR certified dehumidifiers data: Honeywell TPFIT50WK (data.energystar.gov, queried 2026-11-06)
- Honeywell Store: TP-Fit 50-pint dehumidifier TPFIT50WK product page
- US EPA: Use and Care of Home Humidifiers (epa.gov, read 2026-11-06)
- US EPA: A Brief Guide to Mold, Moisture and Your Home (epa.gov, read 2026-11-06)
- ENERGY STAR: Dehumidifiers (buying guidance, sizing chart)
Update log
- — Rebuilt (IPK-BUILD-5) around models confirmed to exist on Amazon.com. Figures come from ENERGY STAR certified-product data and, where we could read one, the manufacturer page; where a source does not state a figure we say so. Models not found on Amazon.com were removed from the picks.